Mower reviews

RYOBI RY40HPLM06K review 2027: a simpler 40V push kit

A straightforward full-size cordless option when your lawn suits a push mower. The exact battery package and storage route matter more than its gas-equivalent slogan.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How our Amazon model-search links work.

My take

I’d lean toward the RY40HPLM06K for a reasonably level lawn when RYOBI 40V compatibility matters and you are comfortable pushing. It includes one 6Ah battery and an OP408 fast charger, with bagging, mulching and side discharge. Choose self-propelled drive if pushing effort is the problem you are trying to solve.

RYOBI RY40HPLM06K push mower kit with one 40V 6Ah battery and fast charger

RYOBI RY40HPLM06K

On this page
  1. Specifications and trade-offs
  2. A better fit for a manageable lawn than a difficult route
  3. One battery in this kit: resolve the quantity before paying
  4. Three clipping modes provide useful flexibility
  5. What the 50-minute runtime claim means
  6. Pushing effort and height adjustment
  7. Storage, cleaning and replacement parts
  8. When another mower makes more sense
  9. Make the purchase fit the job
  10. Common questions

Specifications and practical trade-offs

Documented manufacturer and manual information for this exact model. Published weight bases differ; deck size is not automatically cutting width.

RYOBI RY40HPLM06K: specified configuration
Power / driveRYOBI 40V battery; Push
Deck / cutting path20-inch deck
Included battery1 × OP40605 40V 6Ah
ChargerOP408 40V Fast Charger (120V, 60Hz, 194W input)
Height adjustment1–4 inches; 7 positions, manufacturer page and model manual.
Published weight46.5 lb. Official manufacturer specifications; battery/accessory basis not stated.

Supplied equipment: Grass catcher bag; Start key; Side-discharge chute; Wrench; Operator manuals.

Advantages

  • One 6Ah battery and fast charger are included.
  • Seven-position, single-point adjustment from 1–4 inches.
  • Bagging, mulching and side discharge; handles fold for vertical storage.

Drawbacks

  • No self-propelled drive; slopes or frequent heavy collection increase operator effort.
  • Only one battery supplied; cutting conditions can make the up-to-50-minute claim optimistic for a particular lawn.
  • Manufacturer page has a battery quantity error in one specification-group label; exact-kit confirmation matters.

A better fit for a manageable lawn than a difficult route

The appeal is an uncomplicated weekly routine: charge a pack, set the height, choose the clipping mode and push. A 20-inch deck makes this a full-size option for a relatively open residential lawn. It is less convincing when the route involves repeated slopes, deep rough patches or a heavy catcher that you already find tiring to push.

Owning other RYOBI 40V tools may reduce the number of separate battery systems you maintain. Check the capacity and condition of those existing packs, though. A compatible battery that runs a trimmer briefly may not provide a useful backup for a complete mowing session. ONE+ 18V ownership does not provide battery compatibility here.

Buyers prioritising very narrow access should compare a smaller mower before assuming this is the compact choice. Folding handles help with storage after use; they do not reduce the deck’s working width around trees, a narrow gate or a densely planted border.

One battery in this kit: resolve the quantity before paying

RY40HPLM06K is the complete kit assessed here. RY40HPLM06B is the separately named bare-tool package. Retailer bundles that add a string trimmer, blower or striper are further configurations and may contain different quantities. Compare the exact included list rather than the first similar photograph in search results.

The manufacturer’s explicit product-inclusions list specifies one OP40605 40V 6Ah battery, one OP408 fast charger, catcher bag, start key, side-discharge chute and wrench. Its prose and kit photograph also identify one battery. One embedded specification-group heading incorrectly says two OP40605 packs; that single label should not override the consistent exact-kit evidence.

Ask a seller to correct an ambiguous listing before purchase. Receiving the right mower with the wrong battery package can change the value and how long you can work before charging. Keep a copy of the promised inclusions and inspect the received carton before discarding the packing materials.

One battery in this kit: resolve the quantity before paying
SpecificationVerified informationHow to use it
Power and driveRYOBI 40V battery; pushNo self-propelled assistance is supplied.
Battery and chargerOne OP40605 6Ah; OP408 fast chargerCharger input is 120V, 60Hz, 194W.
Deck and height20-inch deck; seven positions from 1–4 inchesDeck label does not establish independently measured swath.
Published weight46.5lb in manufacturer specificationsBattery/accessory basis is not stated; not an assembled weight measured here.

Three clipping modes provide useful flexibility

The identified configuration supports mulching, collection and side discharge. These modes serve different routines: returning manageable clippings during regular maintenance, collecting when a tidy finish or clipping removal matters, and using the chute when discharge is preferable. Confirm that the bag and chute are actually supplied with the unit you order.

Avoid assuming that every RYOBI HP mower has the same cutting assembly. This assessment does not transfer the RY40HPLM02’s CROSS CUT test findings to the RY40HPLM06. The shared battery badge and a similar colour scheme do not establish identical cut quality, blade geometry or performance in thick grass.

No sufficiently attributable exact-model original cutting test was verified for this review. Our conclusion follows the documented configuration and its practical trade-offs. A clean, dry, regularly maintained lawn is a more sensible purchase assumption than expecting repeated rescue cuts through neglected grass.

What the 50-minute runtime claim means

RYOBI advertises up to 50 minutes using the included 6Ah pack and describes the mower for lawns up to half an acre. Both are manufacturer estimates. They do not account for every lawn shape, stopping pattern, cutting height or grass condition, and they are not Lawn Current timing results.

Use your existing mowing time as an initial planning clue, then leave headroom. A long route with frequent collection stops can be awkward even if its turf area appears modest. Dense growth or taking too much off at once can increase load. Additional packs may help extend the session, but include their cost, storage and charging requirements in the decision.

The OP408 is the verified charger in this kit; do not inherit charging-time claims from another RYOBI package. A fast-charger label alone does not tell you exactly when a hot, recently used battery will be ready to mow again. Consult the supplied battery and charger instructions for charging conditions.

Pushing effort and height adjustment

The seven-position single-point adjustment covers 1–4 inches. One control is convenient when you change height during the season, but the correct setting still depends on your turf and growing conditions. Maximum height is a separate check from how strong the motor sounds or how much voltage the battery label shows.

At a published 46.5 pounds, the mower is substantially sized despite omitting a drive system. Because RYOBI does not identify the battery basis in that specification, do not treat it as an exact ready-to-mow lifting weight. Consider bag contents, turns, ground condition and the route from storage when deciding whether push operation suits you.

Try the handle reach with the machine safely stopped if possible. Comfortable grip, enough clearance around obstacles and a manageable storage position can matter every week. Self-propelled alternatives should be considered when exertion is the issue, while a narrower mower may solve an access problem more directly.

Storage, cleaning and replacement parts

The handles fold and the manufacturer describes vertical storage. Follow the exact operator manual for the approved position and handle locking, remove the battery and start key, and keep the mower stable in a dry space. Store the removable catcher where it will not be crushed. Folded dimensions were not verified here, so measure before assuming it fits a specific cupboard or shelf.

Battery power removes fuel changes from the routine but does not remove maintenance. Inspect the blade, fastening hardware, bag and guards, and clear clippings using the manufacturer-approved method. Never treat a powered-off mower as safe for blade work while the battery and key remain installed.

Use the exact model and current manufacturer parts listing when buying a replacement blade. Similar deck labels do not prove that the mounting system or blade set fits. Keep the receipt and actual serial number, and confirm warranty eligibility with the seller; an Amazon marketplace listing alone does not establish authorised retail status.

When another mower makes more sense

These alternatives address different reasons for changing mower. They are not positioned as measured winners over the RY40HPLM06K.

When another mower makes more sense
AlternativeChoose it whenMain trade-off
RYOBI RY40HPLM02K2You want powered drive, CROSS CUT blades and two 6Ah packs in the same battery system.A substantially heavier, more complex machine and a larger package to fund.
EGO LM2114You want another full-size push option with a 6Ah battery and three clipping modes.A separate 56V battery system; kit value depends on the complete current offer.

Make the purchase fit the job

The RY40HPLM06K earns consideration when a full-size push mower matches your lawn and the 40V ecosystem is useful. Return to the main electric mower guide if your real priority is tiny-yard access, powered drive or corded simplicity.

  • Confirm the K kit code and one 6Ah battery rather than the bare-tool B suffix.
  • Check the supplied charger, catcher, key, chute and wrench.
  • Verify seller, condition, returns and warranty eligibility.
  • Allow a runtime margin and check the storage route before relying on the half-acre claim.

Common questions

Is RY40HPLM06K self-propelled?

No. This is a push mower. RYOBI sells other similarly named self-propelled models, so inspect the full model code.

How many batteries are included?

The explicit inclusions list, product description and kit photograph identify one OP40605 40V 6Ah battery. A contradictory two-battery spec heading should be clarified with the seller.

Can I use an 18V ONE+ battery?

No. This model belongs to the RYOBI 40V system; the 18V ONE+ packs are a different platform.

Does the review establish 50 minutes on my lawn?

No. Up to 50 minutes is a manufacturer estimate using the 6Ah pack. No Lawn Current runtime measurement or guaranteed acreage is claimed.

Documentation and attribution: sources for this article. How we evaluate mowers.

Your next useful step

Best electric lawn mowers for 2027 Best Electric Lawn Mowers for Small Yards 2027 Electric Lawn Mower Maintenance: A Practical Ownership Checklist